Member News & Events


The 2018 BAPTA finalists have now been revealed. This year has seen more entries and nominations than ever with businesses from Burley, Highcliffe, Swanage, Wareham, Wimborne and Verwood all entering for the first time and with over 7,000 votes across the four public vote categories.

Said Andy Woodland, Chairman of Bournemouth and Poole Tourism Management Board, “The awards highlight the achievements of the industry professionals that contribute to tourism from across the BH postcode area, and ensures the area is at the pinnacle of the UK tourism destinations.”

Jackie Phillipson from the BAPTAs and ROUTEpr adds, “These businesses deserve to be celebrated, the tourism sector offers such an incredible variety, from great shops and eateries, attractions, educational institutions, hotels and self-catering, as well as the people from within the tourism sector, which includes recognised international brands and an array of independent thriving local businesses, all of which help the British tourism economy.

This year has seen the complete rebrand of the awards, they are now known as the BAPTAs, the tourism businesses and suppliers from across the whole BH postcode area can enter and nominate, and we are delighted to see so many have embraced the awards this year. As well as Bournemouth and Poole, we have had entries from Christchurch, Swanage, Wimborne and Verwood who have been associated with the awards for the very first time.

There is a real BAPTA buzz in the air and the first BAPTA Ball Awards Ceremony is a chance for everyone to celebrate their successes, network and have a good time!

The event takes place on 15th March at the Lighthouse Poole and tickets can be purchased at Tickets are priced at £65 per person.”

The BAPTA 2018 finalists are:  

 The Large Hotel Award – Sponsored by Berendsen (Title Sponsor of the 2018 BAPTAs)

  • Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa
  • Hotel Collingwood
  • Hotel du Vin & Bistro Poole
  • Hotel Miramar
  • Marsham Court Hotel
  • The Cumberland Hotel

 The Small Hotel Award – sponsored by County Foods

  • Captains Club Hotel & Spa
  • Lord Bute Hotel
  • The Green House Hotel
  • The Orchid Hotel
  • THE PIG – on the beach
  • Urban Beach Hotel

The Transport Delivery Award – presented by ROUTEpr and events Ltd

  • City Cruises Poole
  • City Sightseeing Bournemouth
  • Dorset Cruises
  • Jetski Safaris
  • Morebus
  • Swanage Railway

 The Specialist Dining Experience Award – sponsored by Fusion Wi-Fi and Westbourne Business Association

  • Hotel du Vin & Bistro Poole
  • No.34 Restaurant
  • The Guildhall Tavern
  • The Jetty Restaurant
  • Ventana Grand Café

BAPTAs Best Breakfast Award – sponsored by Bournemouth and Poole College

  • Fresh Edge Café
  • Hotel Collingwood
  • M’s Bakery
  • The Beach Hut Café
  • The Paddle Café

 Best Retail Experience Award – sponsored by Marsham Court Hotel

  • Compton Acres
  • Nellie Mimosa
  • Titan Leathercraft
  • Webster Family Butchers
  • Willow Floristry

 New Business of the Year Award – sponsored by South West Regional Assessment Centre

  • Activate Indoor Trampoline Park
  • El Murrino
  • Marvo Mysteries Escape Room
  • Pause Cat Café
  • The Vintage Lounge & Cinema

The International Cuisine Experience Award – sponsored by Poole Audi’s Feast Magazine

  • Isabel’s Restaurant
  • Koh Thai Tapas
  • Ocean Palace Restaurant
  • The Guildhall Tavern
  • Tiien Thai

 The Self-Catering Accommodation Award – sponsored by Trethowans Solicitors

  • Bournemouth Beach Lodges
  • Burnbake Forest Lodges
  • Home Farm Enterprises
  • Knaveswell Farm
  • Rivendell Outdoor Club
  • Wareham Forest Tourist Park 

The Bar Personality of the Year Award – sponsored by Meridian Lifts

  • Ivan De La Fuente – Lola’s Spanish Tapas Restaurant
  • James Jakeman – Ventana Grand Café
  • Tommo Quy – Captain’s Club Hotel & Spa
  • Harley Stevens – Koh Lounge
  • Danny Vickers – 1812 Lounge Bar

 BAPTAs Rising Star Award – sponsored by HD Telecom and IT Ltd

  • Kate Compston – Gin House and Tap House
  • Lisa Dowdall Sousa – Oceana Hotel Group
  • Lia Martin – Westbourne Business Association
  • Andrei Moisa – Hotel Miramar
  • Prince Ogbuji – Nativ

 The Family Eating Experience Award – sponsored by Town Centre BID

  • Brewhouse and Kitchen
  • Delfino Lounge
  • El Murrino
  • Steam Vintage Tea Rooms
  • Urban Reef

 The Great Time Out Award – sponsored by Merley House

  • Bournemouth Metropole Street Market
  • Farmer Palmer’s Farm Park
  • Go Ape Moors Valley
  • Lulworth Outdoors
  • Poole Harbour Boat Show
  • RockReef and PierZip

 The Green Initiative Award – sponsored by Waste Management Facilities

  • Marvo Mysteries Escape Room
  • Rivendell Outdoor Club
  • South Lytchett Manor Caravan and Camping Park
  • Southern Sustainability Partnership
  • We Do Ethical
  • Yellow Buses RATP Group

 The Creative Concept of the Year Award – sponsored by Oceana Hotel Group

  • Brewhouse and Kitchen – The Academy
  • Create at the Cove
  • Immense Air
  • The Larderhouse
  • Poole Maritime Festival
  • Swanage Rep Theatre

 The Education Award – sponsored by Bournemouth English Book Centre

  • Bournemouth University International College (BUINTCOL)
  • CHI Training
  • Hengistbury Head Outdoor Education Centre
  • Lulworth Education Service
  • South West Regional Assessment Centre
  • White Pepper Chef Academy & Cookery School

 The Afternoon Tea Award – sponsored by Country Fare

  • Compton Acres
  • Hotel Collingwood
  • Hotel Miramar
  • The Courtyard Tea Rooms
  • The Cumberland Hotel

 BAPTAs Best Night Out Award – sponsored by Eskimo EPOS

  • 1812 and Bar So
  • Canvas Bournemouth
  • Chaplin’s & The Cellar Bar
  • Coastal Comedy
  • Mai Tai Cocktail Bar

The Unsung Hero Award – sponsored by United Taxis

  • Paul Dredge
  • Ian Faulkner
  • Ian Goode
  • James Maidment
  • Jackie Richmond
  • Des Simmons
« Back to My BCTC