Member News & Events

BTA 2016 Finalists announced

BTA 2016 Finalists Announced

The wait is finally over and The Bournemouth Tourism Awards can now reveal the finalists of the 2016 Bournemouth Tourism Awards.

Tourism and business trade judges as well as sponsors have spent days deliberating over hundreds of entries and nominations to select the top companies who have made the prestigious finalist shortlist in The Bournemouth Tourism Awards. All of the public votes have also been cast which also resulted in thousands of votes.The finalists based in the BH1 to BH11 post code or from outside the area if the business has an impact on tourism in Bournemouth.

Des Simmons, Chair of the Bournemouth Tourism Management Board (BTMB) and Managing Director of Bournecoast Ltd said: “We are delighted with the response to this year’s awards and it’s never an easy decision finding the top five finalists.

For the first time we had the four new voting categories, which are nominated and voted for by the public, these categories have been an exciting addition and have been very well received.”

The finalists are (in alphabetical order are:

The Transport Delivery Award sponsored by Powerboats P1

·         Claire Vass – Discover Dorset

·         Ian Kalra – Getting About, Bournemouth Borough Council

·         Jenni Wilkinson – Yellow Busses

·         Nikki Honer – Morebus

·         Martin Trott – Swanage Railway


The Specialist Dining Experience Award sponsored by Hallmark Hotels

·         BH Live

·         Koh Lounge on the Beach

·         Nativ

·         The Larder House

·         West Beach

·         Zoukinis


The Great Time Out Award – sponsored by South Coast Windows

·         Koh Thai Tapas

·         Rock Reef – Bournemouth Pier

·         Swanage Railway

·         SoSBA & Coastal Bid – Wheels Comes to Southbourne 2015

·         The Oceanarium


The Family Eating Out Experience Award – sponsored by Town Centre BID

·         Del Marco coffee / pizzeria

·         Nativ

·         Pinocchio Restaurant

·         Quarters Kitchen and Bar

·         Urban Reef Restaurant


Bournemouth’s Best Night Out Award – sponsored by Heineken

·         Aruba

·         BarSo and 1812

·         The Cumberland Hotel

·         Ice SKATE Bournemouth

·         The Navy Blue Party – Hotel Miramar


The Creative Concept Award – sponsored by Daily Echo

·         Bournemouth Emerging Arts Fringe

·         Business Events Bournemouth

·         BH Live

·         Morebus

·         Yellow Buses


The Large Hotel Award – sponsored by Real Recruitment Solutions

·         Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel

·         Marsham Court Hotel

·         The Cumberland Hotel

·         The Connaught Hotel

·         Hotel Miramar


The World Cuisine Award – sponsored by Sandown Mercedes Benz of Poole

·         Coriander Restaurant

·         Indis

·         Kino Lounge

·         Koh Thai Tapas Bournemouth

·         Nativ

·         Tiien Thai


The Education Award – sponsored by Bournemouth Chamber of Trade and Commerce

·         Bournemouth Chinese School

·         BEBC (The Bournemouth English Book Centre)

·         The Hospitality and Tourism Academy


The Small Hotel Award – sponsored by Royal Bank of Scotland

·         Cliff House Hotel

·         The Balincourt

·         The Chocolate Boutique Hotel

·         The Greenhouse Hotel

·         Urban Beach Hotel


The Unsung Hero Award – sponsored by Lester Brunt Wealth Management

·         Mark Berry

·         Mike Francis MBE

·         Theo Lakimov

·         Mandy Payne

·         Steve Taylor

·         Andrew Woodland


The Retail Experience Award sponsored by Coastal BID

Beau Bijou
Bo Concept
Fab Frocks of Westbourne
Geo. A. Payne & Son
Steamer Trading Cookshop
The Bar Personality of the Year Award sponsored by Shore Travel

·         Trevor Ayling – Renoufs

·         Charly Cartwright – Bar So

·         Andy Coleman – Maitai Lounge

·         James Fowler – The Larder House & The Library Bar

·         Jon Nash – The Anvil


The Rising Star Award – sponsored by Purple HR

·         Rupert Holloway – Conker Gin

·         James Maidment – Canvas

·         Brian Robbins – The Cumberland Hotel

·         Brett Stewart – Hotel Miramar

·         Andrew Thompson – Marsham Court Hotel


The Afternoon Tea Award – sponsored by A One Insurance Group

·         Dot.Teas Vintage Tea Boutique

·         Hotel Miramar

·         The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel

·         Ventana Grand Café – The Cumberland Hotel

·         Woosters of Westbourne


Bournemouth’s Best Breakfast Award – sponsored by Wave 105

·         Binnies Café

·         Norwegian Wood

·         Little Pickle Deli Café

·         The Rumblin Tum Café

·         The Hungry Wolf Café


The finals of the 2016 Bournemouth Tourism Awards will be held at the Bournemouth Pavilion Theatre and Ballroom on February 25 from 6.30pm to midnight.  MEDIA please note that the finalists will all be present at 6pm prompt for half hour for interviews and photography.

For more information visit: or or call Richard or Jackie at Route PR T 01202 896698 / 07740611147

« Back to My BCTC